Literacy At Home Activity #2

Literacy at home activity for week #2 :  Initiate dinner table discussions with your children.  

You and your children don’t need to read the same books to have dinner table conversations about the books.  I know my children are interested in what I am reading. Of course, I don’t discuss the entire plot of the story with them, but I do give them a brief kid-friendly synopsis of the book.

Talk about the books they are reading. Ask them questions that will encourage a discussion, such as:

  • 1) What is the main topic of the book?
  • 2) Where is the story set? How do you know?
  • 3) What do you think will happen next?
  • 4) How does this book compare to another one you have read on this topic?

Let the conversation flow naturally.  As the conversation flows, you will have other questions, as you  let your student talk about the book.  Share what you are reading too,  but remember to share appropriate content with them.